Yes, we can.

3 02 2008

I don’t think I’ve ever talked about my personal politics here.  Maybe I have, I don’t remember.  And it’s not often that I ask you for anything, but today I am.  Please click right here and turn up your speakers.  Then come back.  I’ll wait.  Go!  I’ll still be here. 

 
All right.  I ask you, was that or was that not the most inspiring, uplifting, and hopeful thing you’ve seen for, oh, at least EIGHT YEARS?  I am in love with Barack Obama.  I am in love with his optimism and realism.  I want him to be my President.  I want him to be your President.  And if you’re Ed, I want him to be the President your Prime Minister meets with from time to time to discuss important matters such as “How the in the world can this horrific wound be healed?”

 
Barack Obama, ladies and gentleman.  Vote.  Yesterday my teaching team leader went canvassing for Obama.  At a little house in central Phoenix he rang the doorbell and was greeted by an elderly black woman.  When my friend introduced himself and told her why he was there, she began to cry, saying she never imagined she’d see the day when a white man would walk miles and miles to support a black man for President.  Yes, we can.

Yes, we can, yes, we can.

Actions

Information

14 responses

3 02 2008
Miss T

Nice story.

3 02 2008
cdaniele

yes! Agree wholeheartedly.

Yours in cake.

3 02 2008
jesh

what a cool story!

yesterday I saw a picture of a campaign poster that said ‘rock out with your Barack out.’ it made me laugh.

3 02 2008
JulieB

Almost makes me wish I could vote there! Let’s just hope that the rest of your fine country feels the same 🙂

3 02 2008
Ed

Just remember that they are all self serving, power hungry f£?k heads.
Don’t matter who you vote for or which party, they’re only in it for themselves.
EG, Tony Blair.

I rest my case.

4 02 2008
silencepainter

I’m voting for him. 🙂

8 02 2008
Ed

I’ve done some reading and I hope you can.

I’d vote for him

16 02 2008
Batty

He rocks. Barack Obama is just plain awesome.

17 02 2008
ennavic

I’d vote for him if I could too – his fresh vision is what the US needs as a circuit breaker for the rest of the world.

17 02 2008
ennavic

I’d vote for him if I could too – his fresh vision is what the US needs as a circuit breaker for the rest of the world.

17 02 2008
sillyrabbit

Si, se puede! I need to take a picture of my little one in his Barackstar shirt, don’t I? I won’t wake him up now. I’ll take one tomorrow and send it to you.

23 02 2008
Ed

look I know your busy, but if it isn’t too much trouble…….

4 03 2008
Penny Karma

I think he’s hot. Am I too old to be a White House intern?

16 07 2008
laura

that was the awesomest thing evar!

are you part of the ravelry group for him? we’re knitting for homeless vets. 🙂

Leave a Reply

