How can I keep from singing?*

10 01 2008

I swear, I could listen to the Wii main menu music all day long.  I could sleep to that stuff.  I wonder if they make a disc of it that I can play in my classroom?  Ah, that reminds me.  Next week I start my full-time student teaching, so you might think I’ve died, but I assure you, I will not have died.  Unless I actually do, and then my GOD wouldn’t this be creepy?  If I do it’s my ex-husband’s fault.  Even if I choke on a Jolly Rancher, it’s his fault.

 

I’m so excited to start teaching full-time.  I cannot wait.  I am so nervous, though.  Last night loverman and I talked about measuring your success as a teacher.  For me, it boils down to mutual respect between me and my students, and observable understandings and applications.  That might sound education buzz-wordy, but I assure you I mean it.  On the other hand, if you ever read the words “pedagogical implications” or “pedagogically justifiable” on this here blog, the OLPP you know and love (and yes, you love me, even though I’m never around and never share good stuff like knitting and gossip) has been overtaken by an alien being.

 

Today, for the first time in months, I actually bought yarn.  Tow skeins of Malabrigo Lace and oh my god, it’s all true, one skein of Noro sock yarn and I don’t know why since I HATE knitting socks, and two skeins of Manos which will become a Meathead hat and matching mittens.  Maybe for me.

 

Do you have a Wii?  Wanna play?  I’d copy Ed once again and put my Wii number out here, but my kids use it, too, and I don’t know how iron-clad are those parental controls.  If you leave a comment with your email address, I’ll email you my number and we can be Wii pals.  Almost like wee pals, but we’re neither short nor using the potty.  If you are using the potty, I don’t want to know.

 

I miss you all.  I miss my blog.  We’re moving AND I start working full-time again for the first time in more than a year.  Yes, I am very stressed, but it’s all so, so good!

 

*Enya, not Martin Sheen

 

*

Actions

Information

6 responses

11 01 2008
Robin

pedagogical
pedagogical
pedagogical

That words will be clanging around in my head for days now. Thanks a heap, OLPP. (Have fun teaching, although it will cause me to miss your CPaA presence immeasurably.)

11 01 2008
Ed

Moving and teaching.
You’re mad, you do know that don’t you?

Good luck on both.

I’ll try to work out or read up on how robust the parental controls are for the Wii, I may need you to help in a little experiment when I’ve finished my reading.

chin chin

11 01 2008
bezzie

Dude, why didn’t all my teachers think like that?

11 01 2008
Batty

Good luck with the student teaching, you can do it!

About the Malabrigo… I managed to stay away from it yesterday, but that’s only because I bought a skein of the Noro sock yarn only a little over a week ago. That stuff is dreamy!

12 01 2008
kerryclem

You will be sorely missed! Don’t forget to visit when you have a free moment! Things just won’t be as CPaA without you!

13 01 2008
crazymonkeycreates

mmm… wii.

I love my wii, and I agree, the main menu music is rather relaxing and pleasant. I like the music in MySims, too. I hum along while playing it.

At least it’s not like “Luigi’s Mansion”. If you’ve ever played it, you know what I’m talking about. Luigi goes around humming the music, and after an hour or so playing, so do you.

Leave a Reply

