Blogstalker 2: The Re-Awakening

17 09 2007

All right, blogstalkers, let me lay it down for you.

I am a Mama. Not a mother, not a mom, Mama. I am Mama. If my kids decide they’re too old to call me Mama I just might heave an aneurysm. And it wil be ALL THEIR FAULT. I should tell them that.

I am engaged to my favorite person in the world (in the category of People Who Are Not My Children). He’s my best pal, my true, true love, my support, my friend, and I’d go on and on but I’m getting choked up and he’d make fun of me, and y’all would hate me for hogging the best man ever. (Sweetie, can I put up your picture? Ok, thanks.)

I am on my way to becoming a Language Arts/English teacher. Right now I’m interning with a 7th grade class and I could not be happier. I love them all, even the needy, potentially problematic ones. Maybe even especially the needy, potentially problematic ones. Technically, I’m a grad student, but more important to me is the fact that I am on my way to becoming a teacher.

I am a horrible housekeeper.

But I love to iron.

I was in the Navy, so once a sailor always a sailor. (I don’t have any pictures scanned, so here’s some cake instead.)


I love Science Fiction movies, although not the new-fangled ones you see on the Sci-Fi channel. Those suck. I particularly enjoyed Dune, with Kyle Maclachlan and Sting and quite a bit of the future cast of
Twin Peaks. That show was genius. Anyway, this creature reminds me of that creature in Dune, the one in a big jar that could fold space. You know what I mean?

I love coffee, and my day is ruined if I cannot have a good cup of coffee. I’m usually the only person that can make a good cup of coffee, so I’ve learned to relax my standards a bit. ONLY on vacation, though. I’m pretty restless, so we go out of town a lot. Usually we’re in either Vegas or Rocky Point on the Bay of Cortez in Mexico. They’re about equidistant from us. That’s a good word, equidistant. This past weekend we went down to RP and here is the Tofutsies sock I’ve been knitting for the past eight months. It’s got chitin in it, so I half worried that it would heed the call of the wild and try to slink back into the ocean.

I cannot keep plants alive. Fish are in similar peril under my care, but let me tell you about the time a scorpion crawled up into the tank and killed a fish! That’s essentially the whole story right there.

I’m a procrastinator. I’m very impatient. That seems a bit contradictory. I’ll ponder that over the laundry I’m about to fold.



Thanks, knittyheads, for making this so much fun!

Actions

Information

34 responses

17 09 2007
Jo

Cool – we have things in common – a love for coffee, SF, ironing, lack of housekeeping expertise, and I used to be an ESL teacher. And I’m a Mama, too 😉

17 09 2007
bezzie

EEEK! Ironing! No thanks.

JJ’s so cute! I don’t think we’ve ever seen him on here have we???

17 09 2007
Kelly

Hah – possibly my favourite blog stalking post yet ;).

My dad was a marine – so I can understand your “once a sailor, always a sailor” statement. My dad’s almost blind but can still make a bullseye shot from 100 yards. Creepy, yes?

17 09 2007
sillyrabbit

That is fantastic! I love it!

17 09 2007
weezalana

It’s like looking into a mirror! Except I don’t have kids. And I’m not a teacher. Or formerly in the Navy. Or really into science fiction movies. And I’m a decent housekeeper (when I actually get around to housekeepering).

Okay, so really it’s just the coffee and the plant thing. So it’s more like looking into a piece of glass that fell on the floor when I dropped that picture frame that one time, but still…

17 09 2007
Jauncourt

Yay Laundry! Well, okay, no. My dining room has been eaten by a pile of kids’ clothes and I keep putting it off, because they are growing so fast and by the time I get it all put away, they seem to have grown out of it again.

And, I, too have a perverse love of ironing. 🙂

17 09 2007
Kelly

I think you’re going to make a fabulous teacher.

(But I hate to iron.)

17 09 2007
Libilou

You love to iron? Egads. It’s an epidemic. I have another friend who irons everything, even her t-shirts. So weird. 🙂

17 09 2007
Magatha

I like to iron too. There’s so much information in this post all I can focus on is your yellow octopus creature. You know, that creature in Dune is a human being who has been so altered/evolved by use of the Spice that he/she is able to fold space and look like an octopus. David Lynch, you gotta love him. He disowns that movie, wants his name taken off of it, but really it is a great Sci/Fi movie. The art direction alone is exceptional.
I’m not a nerdy geek about it or anything. 😉

JJ is really handsome, but then you knew that, I’m guessing.

18 09 2007
Ed

Looks like J caught a bit of sun, lucky sod. The only way anyone gets a tan over here is by painting themselves orange.

Go Navy!

Ironing!? AAGGGHHHHHH.

Cake you say.

18 09 2007
Beverly

My sister has the same feelings about coffee as you. Try as I might, I cannot make an acceptable cup for her. Very picky, that one.

18 09 2007
Ed

What’s the cake and how do you make it?

Next look over jimbo’s shoulder and see a US Navy t-shirt

Go Navy!

19 09 2007
Ed

stumbled across this blog while looking at Blogger Play, I don’t know the language but some of your knitty pals might.
http://sukkasato.blogspot.com/

19 09 2007
oldladypenpal

Ed, you rule. With my vast knowledge of languages, I’d guess it’s eastern European. Somewhere cold, because look at those thick socks!

19 09 2007
Magatha

Finland! That is the Finnish! 🙂 Finn?

19 09 2007
discoknits

I hate to iron. My mama loves it though. But I did love Twin Peaks, so we have that in common. And your red cake looks SO tasty. 🙂

19 09 2007
discoknits

BTW, is Ed English? They are the only people I know who say ‘sod’ 🙂

19 09 2007
rhiannonrevolts

A Guild Navigator! As Magatha said, they were humans transformed by excessive use of melange to bend spacetime.
…not that I’ve read all the books and seen both the Lynch and the SciFi minis (honestly think you’d like their version of Children of Dune), or anything.

Good to know more about you–THE SPICE MUST FLOW.

19 09 2007
seiding

I think the story about the fish and the scorpion may, in fact, be the best-written story I have ever read.

Yours in awe, and fellow-plant-killing,

Sue

19 09 2007
seiding

Oh, and that sink is kick-ass!

19 09 2007
oldladypenpal

I hate that sink. It takes up SO much space and doesn’t have a drain-stop.
You want it?

20 09 2007
Penny Karma

I’m going to send you a frickin case of Downy Wrinkle Releaser.

20 09 2007
knitsnthings

I think you’re excellent at this! You are going to be a fantastic teacher, my dear 🙂

20 09 2007
SuzannaBanana

“It is by will alone I set my mind in motion…” I LOVED that movie.

Hey, that philodendron isn’t dead! That’s what mine looks like. That’s what it’s SUPPOSED to look like. Right? Please tell me I’m right.

Great post!

20 09 2007
purple_niko

I have that *exact* plant! It’s in a plastic pot on my windowsill, right next to the spot where I do my “table crafts”, and every time I get close to it, it seems to want to escape! I can’t count the number of times it’s jumped off the sill – there’s only about 1/2 a pot of dirt in it now. I should really re-pot it…
(I’m also going to be knitting a pair of socks (for me!!) with some of that Tofutsies yarn…it looks like it will be really nice to work with – now for choosing a pattern!)

20 09 2007
Kelly

Magatha’s right; it is Finnish. Sukkasato = sock harvest. Kinda like a socktoberfest, only this knitalong’s running from syyskuu (September) into lokakuu (October). Damn impressive total so far from the participants!

(I have weird hobbies. Learning obscure languages happens to be one of them.)

21 09 2007
Ed

Me again,
I’ve been lurking through some of the blog stalker entries and visiting the blogs and it seems everyone is doing a Clapotis, what is it?
I did a google and wickpedia search and got pictures and references from bikini’s, canoes, hillwalking and seawall construction. Also it isn’t in my dictionary.
A little help please.

21 09 2007
Eryn

Love cake, love coffee, also kill plants. I should send you my ironing; I don’t even know where my ironing board is!

21 09 2007
silencepainter

Nice post, I love all the pictures!

I’m starting to get into coffee. Just what is required for it to be a good cup? I need to figure this out!

21 09 2007
Owlie

What’s ironing?

I love reading your blog. It’s your writing style. 🙂

(And why did it take me six tries to spell “writing” correctly?)

22 09 2007
Theresa

AYYY!! That link that Ed posted? That is Finnish and the pink slippers on the Sept. 22 post? The link under those slippers is to Ziina who has translated the Fuzzy Feet pattern into Finnish! See? http://ziina.vuodatus.net/blog/50152

Hehehehehe…

22 09 2007
ZantiMissKnit

I don’t mind ironing. I hate doing dishes though (or, really, cleaning the drainer of yuck from the dishes).

I used to be terrible with plants, but the past few years I have kept some pothos plants alive and they have gotten huge! I think the secret is a little bit of water once a week, trimming of the dead bits, and repotting if the roots are sticking out of the bottom. . .

23 09 2007
wonky

You forgot to mention how you’re one of the Funniest People Wonky Has Ever Had The Pleasure To Read On The Internets Or Anywhere Else For That Matter. Whew. Maybe the length of that title is why.

Your kids are so handsome/beautiful! And why have you heretofore hidden the visage of the fetching JungleJim? What a hunk! Or as kids would say today, uh, I’m not sure what is considered complimentary to a male in these days. Let’s just settle for ROWR!

24 09 2007
Shea

This is one of the funniest posts I’ve read in a long time! Thanks for the kind comments on my blog!

Leave a Reply

