S-H-O-P-P-I-N-G, We’re Shopping!

9 07 2007

JungleJim and I will never have children together because a) my minions are the best kids in the world so why press our luck and b) he has sworn to name the hypothetical children things like Rognall Slothmog and Gunter something or other I’m unable to spell. You see? After Chloe and Nolan, it would be hard to make the transition to Rognall Slothmog and Gunter Somethingorother. I just had to get that out. Moving along now.

In a few days I will be older. Ok, in three minutes I’ll be older, in fact, I’m older now. And now. And NOW! AND NOW! Gah, it doesn’t end. In order to celebrate the fact that I’ve made it this far I’ve done some shopping. For the past few weeks I’ve been obsessed with getting a new knitting bag. I’ve looked long and hard and lustily at the Jordana Paige bags and the Namaste bags. All quite pricey, but heck. We don’t consider price when we’re birthday shopping. For ourselves. With the money that relatives send, come on! Living in Arizona presents some unique challenges when it comes to knitting. There couldn’t possibly be as dedicated and steadfast a following (read: customer base) as there is in cooler climates. It’s quite difficult, therefore, to find a shop with any sort of knitting bag selection. Or Fleece Artist Sea Silk in the ivory color scheme, but that’s a different story. I don’t think anyone has that. (Never mind! I just scored three skeins from a seller on ebay! Thanks Mom and Dad!) Where was I? Oh yes, a knitting bag. So what’s a girl to do? Order it sight unseen? Bag unfelt? Zipper unzippered? All this talk about felt up and unzippering…. Yes. I’m a very visual, hands-on kind of girl, so I wasn’t ready to plunk down my dinero de cumpleanos on something I’d neither seen nor felt, so I did what anyone would do: I went to Target! Yes, I went to Target and bought my damn self a knitting bag! Wanna see? Sure you do, and it is for you and you alone that I took these pictures.

Here is it with my Knit Picks Options case in front of it for scale.

Here’s the front pocket that is deep enough to hold magazines, and has two more slim pockets which will hold things like pattern printouts, Luna Bar wrappers, and phone numbers hot men will write on their business cards and surreptitiously slip into my outstretched hand when they see how cool I am with my knitting bag.

Here it is with my Icarus WIP (which is carried to and fro in a large Lancome gift with purchase bag I got last year), my KP Options binder, and my Clementine Shawlette wip (which is carried in ANOTHER Lancome bag! Dang, Lancome! You rock my knitting bag world! My eyelashes and eyebrows, too, come to think of it.) I also have my Fendi glasses case that holds a cr*ch*t hook, scissors, point protectors, etc., in there. Here are some pictures of the inside, but they’re not that thrilling and after a bit this started to remind me of that Getting to know Your Body movie we had to watch in 6th grade.


I LOVE this bag. I love it because it holds everything. I love it because it’s black and pink. I love it because it only set me back 27 bones, which left me with enough “Happy You Were Born” money to get that third skein of Sea Silk without cutting into the family budget.


Oh! Le Tour de France KAL! Here’s a peek at my Clementine. I had to start all over because I was missing important parts of the WS rows, causing the end piece to bulge out as an occupied jock strap might. I’m sure that’s not what the pattern author had in mind. I love this pattern- it’s quite fun, but does require that I pay attention to it. I’ve been knitting on it each morning during the stage, and each night in bed for about ten minutes. So I haven’t made that much progress, but I’m getting there. Jim loves it (I’ve even threatened to knit some i-cord and turn the first attempt into a g-string for him), which is quite nice! I keep saying “This feels like hair!” only to be reminded that it is indeed hair. Sorry for the awful picture, it’s difficult to photograph this thing. And MAN, what a crash this morning! That always frightens me, and I imagine myself punching the photogs who run in to take pictures while the riders are standing around dazed and perhaps a bit irritated. I love this race, I truly do!

I tell you what, I’ve been shopping like a mad woman today! My new knitting bag, yarn, a print from (inside a black apple) on etsy, and tickets to the 9:45am showing of Harry Potter on Wednesday! What a way to celebrate my being born day on Wednesday!  It’s not til Wednesday.  I’m just getting a head start!

Happy Monday, everyone. Summer Session 2 starts this evening. Bah humbug.

PS- Bezzie, I got my first “eyeball lick” blog search hit!

Actions

Information

12 responses

9 07 2007
bezzie

EWWW!!! Eyeball lick!

Happy getting older!

I’m not normally handbag girl, but that pink interior really calls to me. I wonder what that says about me?

9 07 2007
Ed

Good entry. Good pics. Rolling along nicely.
Then you had to lower the tone with the film in 6th grade.
Happy birthday.

9 07 2007
ladylungdoc

I am a big fan of the bargain basement knitting bag – save the Lexie Barnes $$ for yarn!!
Love that pink interior as well!

10 07 2007
turtlegirl76

Some of the best bags can be found at Target. You found a winner! Happy Birthday!

10 07 2007
chemgrrl

Happy birthday!

I will never look at that shawl pattern again without thinking of jock straps.

11 07 2007
P del F (Fireball)

Feliz cumpleanos, carina! 🙂

Nice bag, beautiful knitting and yay score on the seasilk! 🙂 I need to start on my Clementine too. And work on Icarus. Instead? I’m knitting socks. What’s wrong with me? I’ve knitting ADHD, that’s what.

Where was I? Ah yes, have a truly happy birthday today. Harry Potter day! Hoooray!

11 07 2007
P del F (Fireball)

P.S. I can haz poetry? Gah.

11 07 2007
Batty

Happy Birthday!

I just bought some bags at Target too, and I can’t believe it took me this long to find them.

11 07 2007
zumagirl

Awesome knitting bag… love the black & pink. Happy Birthday too! =)

11 07 2007
2paw

Happy Birthday! Oh the Clemetine Shawlette is lovely, I hope the ‘bulge’ is easy to fix!!! Knit well and fast!!!

13 07 2007
Ms. L

If it’s any comfort, the Clementine gets REALLY easy once you stop doing increases. Really easy wrong side, and alternating front side variations.

And then you do it all over again, and sew in up in the middle.

26 08 2007
jpknits

Eek! I bought the same bag in May.
Ooh, scary.

It’s currently my everything bag. If only I could be consistent about where I want to find things. Love the pockets, but hate my inconsistency.

Leave a Reply

