Eye twitch Coffeemate Coffee Creamer*

14 05 2007

I wish I had more to share, but alas, I do not. My semester ended very successfully, despite my near-fatal run-in with my action research project: 35 pages of sheer genius and possibly the most refined-to-startling-purity bullshit I’ve ever written. Larry, if you’re reading this I of course am kidding, that research project was entirely authentic and none of the data was a product of my creative writing skillz.

I highly doubt Larry reads knitting blogs. Not that I’ve been able to accomplish much knitting lately. Here’s a shot of my Icarus right at the start of the fourth repeat of chart 1. I’m sure blocking it will make it look all lace-like and not light-sweatery as it does now. The yarn I’m using says it’s laceweight, but I’m not sure how they arrived at that. Oh well. One skein has seen me through this far, so I’m pretty confident I’ve got enough to finish the shawl. It’s far more green in person. Not so silvery.

Why am I knitting this a year before I get married? I don’t know. I saw the yarn and I had to have it. And I’ve always loved the Icarus shawl but doubted I’d ever be able to knit anything so loverly. Alas. What I’ll do is block it, and then seal it up in JungleJim’s food saver thing. You know what I’m talking about- you put your food, or, in this case your silk/seacell blend lace shawl, into the food saver bag and then heat-seal it shut with the apparatus. Then, a week before we get married (April 19th, 2008) I’ll free it from its prison, block it again, and then let it sit. I don’t know.

In other exciting news, we’re moving! We now have a house with a pool AND a lawn. That’s unheard of around here. One of the other, but not both. I cannot wait. It’s a gorgeous house, I can’t wait to take pictures and show you all. And yes, you can come over and swim and drink margaritas!

    And now I leave you with this: last night our dryer emitted a decidedly “I’m burning something!” smell and then refused to dry anything. Unbeknownst to us it ran all night (it’s the one thing in this apartment that’s quiet) and STILL didn’t dry the clothes. So the maintenance guy came this morning and fixed us right up. Charred dryer lint is a scary thing, people. Scary thing.

*I have no idea what this means or why someone would be searching for such a thing. But I think from now on instead of song titles I’ll post blog search hits.

Actions

Information

8 responses

14 05 2007
Batty

Pool party at OLPP’s new place! I’ll bring the inflatable floaty toys, who’s bringing the Margaritas?

14 05 2007
Zanne

I love the wedding date! You’re getting married on my 5-year anniversary. 🙂

And I’m knitting Icarus for the party. Go figure.

I gave myself a year to knit the outfit for the festivities. I think that should be enough time to finish things. Your Icarus looks loverly, by the way.

14 05 2007
Ed

A pool AND a lawn. Such decadence.

14 05 2007
P del F (Fireball)

A pool and a lawn and school doneness and margaritas and Icarus! Gracious.

14 05 2007
Linnea

Did you know that a continual eye twitch means that you need some lovin’? Really, an optometrist told me. And optometrists don’t lie.

I’ll bring Margaritas!

15 05 2007
bezzie

Hee hee! You’re knitting it now so you don’t have to later!!

16 05 2007
Webbo

You’re doing it now because you’re actually planning ahead so you can cunningly avoid spending the last few days before your wedding staying up all night knitting as fast as you can and crying that it will never be finished? (Not that that’s what would happen to me, oh no.) Smart cookie, you.

23 05 2007
Octopus Knits

I just love the yarn you’re using for Icarus — gorgeous color and it looks so soft. Your blog is a riot!

(and thanks for your comments about my Octopus!)

Leave a Reply

