And When the World is Through With Us, We’ll Have Each Other’s Arms

12 03 2007

I fall in and out of love rather easily. Very easily, I’d say. I have a heart that is at once the size of the African continent and cold as the un-planet Pluto. Last year I fell in love with knitting. And I still love her. I also fell in love with all things knitting-related: wonderful yarns, all sorts of needles, books, magazines, notions, all the accouterments and trappings of a new love. I also fell in love with other people who had fallen in love with knitting. I fell in love with a message board through with they frequently professed their love AND discussed everything else under the sun. But now I think, am I a solitary creature? Am I fickle? Do I perhaps lack a certain maturity to live and let live? I don’t think so. I’ve simply fallen out of love. I have nothing left to give, and so many others do. Things come out the wrong way, I lack the patience to defend or listen to another’s defense. As my best friend Thom Yorke sings, “my thoughts are misguided, I’m a little naïve.”

Is that my way of saying I don’t want to play anymore? I suppose. Can I be a knitting island and still hope to have a penpalship going on? I guess I’ll find out. But just so you know, you’ve written and I do love you!

Speaking of! Here’s a future sock.

Stats: STR Fire on The Mountain, the prize I won from Cara!

Needles: size 2 Clover DPNs

Pattern: Broadripple from Knitty! Seriously, is there any better pattern for this yarn? I think not. The name, the colors, it’s perfect! I was going to say kismet, but I’m not sure what that is exactly, and that reminds me that I need to Google the Southwest Gestalt Center that I pass every once in a while. I’ve got no idea what that place is or does. Anyway, a future sock.  I swear, that might be the best picture I’ve ever taken.  It’s as though I could TOUCH that sock.  Even though I can….

Here is the baby bag for J’s sister’s baby! I know baby bag is not its official name, but J calls it a baby bag and I’m such a lemming, I will, too.

Stats: Brown Sheep Co.’s Cotton Fleece

Needles: KPO size 6 circs

Pattern: Apple form MagKnits

It’s quite soft, and I think it will be great for a D.C.-area baby come November time when she or he is due to arrive! Val assures me that Cotton Fleece is machine washable despite the caution urged by the label, which is good because I cannot imagine anyone these days putting to repeated use a baby item that had to be hand washed.

School is school. Keeping my very busy. I subbed last week and it was pure hell. I tell you what, if you think you’re just a few good deeds shy of admittance through the pearly gates, spend a few days as a substitute high school teacher. In Phoenix.

 

Batty! When you read this, let me know if you’d like that messenger bag I made. It’s still sitting in my drawer. I’d be very happy to send it to you if you think you’d be able to use it, or make it into something else. I know you liked the fabric, so let me know!

I hope you all are well. Thank you for reading.

Actions

Information

9 responses

13 03 2007
poops

I get the feeling there’s gonna be less OLPP on the boards these days. That makes me sad. I hate to see a voice of reason melt away like the snow. Even though I admit that lately I’m PMing a lot so as not to be a voice of dissent and keeping my opinions to myself. I suppose it doesn’t make for interesting reading though.

At least I can come see you here, right?

13 03 2007
Karen

Wait, wait, wait. What the heck happened in the few days I’ve been missing from the boards? You can’t possibly think of leaving!! You will still be in chat, yes?

Oh, so not the way to start my day…. 😦

13 03 2007
ladylungdoc

I too wonder what has been going on at the Knittyboard during my absence. Being gainfully employed after 2 months off is probably going to cut down on my presence there as well.

I have come across 3 of the blogging recipients of Cara’s STR largesse; small world. Both the Bag and the Sock look great.

By the way – how DO you find out what searches led people to your blog?

13 03 2007
bezzie

I love thee no matter a knitter you be, or not.

That yarn color is freakin’ amazing. And now I have Devil Came Down To Georgia stuck in my head. Betcha didn’t intend that did you?

13 03 2007
lilknitter

I’m finding my boardiness waxing and waning. Maybe we’ll see you around again, maybe not, but I’ll still be reading you here!

That IS a good pic of that sock! You’ll have rainbow feet!

13 03 2007
Ed

Hello little one. You no longer knit, I never knit. Would still like 2 chat 1 in a while. On a mob for this wil say more when i get 2 comp.

15 03 2007
P del F (Fireball)

Oooooh look at that photography! Viddy niiiiiiiiiice, viddy nice indeed.

15 03 2007
P del F (Fireball)

Oh yeah. RE: horrible subbing experiences:

“Children, your performance was miserable. Your parents will all receive phone calls instructing them to love you less now.”

3 05 2007
zaebiz

zaebiz

Hot petite tiro sex band. These are zaebiz first-rate sorority whores showing their tits for you !

Leave a Reply

