And if I Choose to See This as a Sign, It Surely Is

15 01 2007

I love it when people can name that tune!

It’s fun to sometimes realize how small the knitblog world is, because it seems SO vast. I saw this on one of the blogs I read quite some time ago, at least a month, and I’ve seen it with increasing frequency. I don’t know that I can narrow this down to six, but here are some strange things about me:

Ø   I got married in Gibraltar. So did John Lennon and Yoko Ono. So did Sean Connery and at least one of his wives. I think the lesson learned here is that if you want to have a long, happy marriage, don’t get married in Gibraltar.

Ø   I am a descendant of Grover Cleveland, 22nd President of the Unites States.

Ø   When I was a little girl we lived in Mission Viejo, CA. The rec center we belonged to had a high dive board and occasionally Greg Louganis practiced there. One day I tripped and fell on the poolside and he scooped me up. Thanks, Greg Louganis!

Ø   When driving, if I have to switch lanes I try to arrange it so that I don’t run over the reflector thingies on the road. If I can successfully switch lanes with no run-overs, I feel confident that I’ll have a good day.

Ø   I secretly believe that the fortune in my cookie truly is meant for me. I guess that’s not a secret anymore.

Ø   When I was a senior in high school I was in a production of The Fiddler on the Roof put on by the seminary down the street from my school. I developed quite a debilitating crush on a man who was a third-year seminary student. That meant that in less than a year he would be ordained a priest. (Ok, technically a deacon, because that’s the first step, but still.) It was shameful, the things that ran through my mind. He is the ONLY former crush I have not Googled.

There we are, then. So I won a skein of STR from the wonderful Cara! I’m quite pleased. I’m going to make a pair of Pomatomus, just see if I don’t! Let me rephrase that. I’m going to try!!

Chloe had her birthday party this weekend. Whoever tells you that having five ten-year old girls in your apartment all at the same time for a sleepover is a good idea is LYING to you, and is obviously trying to put you in some sort of zombie-like, not quite conscious state so as to allow for more easy thievery of your yarn. I baked what was later called a Scab Cake. Gross. Red Velvet cake with chocolate frosting. Can’t have cake without chocolate frosting. Then it’s not cake! Trying to get this close-up resulted in a somewhat chocolate-coated camera. What’s a girl to do? Why, lick the frosting off the camera, of course!

Actions

Information

3 responses

15 01 2007
bezzie

Mm…that’s a delicious looking scab cake though!

Congrats on the STR!

And wasn’t Grover Cleveland the only pres to serve two non-consecutive terms? You crazy people you!

16 01 2007
Ceallach

mmmmm scab cake……

Hey guess what? Nothing is coming….that’s right, nothing! Are you happy for us?

17 01 2007
the kitchener bitch

GROVER!

May I call you Grover?

Or at least Miss Cleveland?

Leave a Reply

