I’m Only Here to Bring You Free Love

11 01 2007

  

I know Ed hates it when I put crap on my laptop.  I think he does something with electronics or some such, but I haven’t been able to ferret out from his blog what his precise occupation is.  I have no knitting going on, so…. there’s lunch- sushi, Pom BlackBerry Pomegranate Tea, and apple chips

So.  You’ve all read mention of JungleJim, the love of my life, my one true love, so on and so forth.  I don’t think I’ve ever shared stories of StingRayJim.  I guess it’s because he’s not prominent enough in my life to inspire any stories, and that’s ok.  He’d be appalled, by the way, to hear such talk, but that’s the way it is.  Just this once, though, here’s a story.

This morning for some reason known only to StingRayJim (because I wasn’t paying 100% attention, if you must know) we were discussing Pope Urban II.  This was after our discussion of the Carboniferous Period, which I didn’t believe had actually transpired until a Google search verified it.  I was reading aloud all about the Carboniferous Period (go ahead and say it out loud, it feels funny) and got to the part about stratigraphy.  I pronounced it STRA-ti-gra-phy, when it turns out to be stra-TI-gra-phy, like calligraphy.  If you’ve ever spoken to me, you’ll recall how I am a total pain in the ass when it comes to pronouncing words properly.  For example- exactly.  There’s a T in there, people.  Cost-Co.  Also a T.  Promptly.  And yes, I say of-ten.  So when StingRayJim suddenly said “stra-TI-gra-phy” I laughed.  I laughed so hard that I cried, because my shame at mispronouncing a word was too grand to contain. Also, what makes it worse is that I was actually thinking of the stratosphere when I said stratigraphy, and as we all know, the stratosphere is not part of the earth’s crust. 

In two weeks I start my Masters classes to teach high school English.  No child left behind!  (Which is not a grammatically correct statement.  Left behind….. what?  The tool shed?  The supply closet?  Behind what?)  Perhaps when I’m a real teacher we’ll write essays on What the Carboniferous Period Means to Me.

 The other day I was out running The Geege’s errands with her.  We were at one of those giant bedding/kitchening doohickey stores buying linens (but not things, we weren’t at THAT store) for the new beds she’d purchased two hours earlier.  By the way, the things I do for the Geege are innumerable and varied.  I flopped down on so many mattresses in quite an unladylike manner.  Anyway.  Back at the bed and bath and more-than-those-two-areas store.  I spotted this very peculiar sign and had to snap a photo.  What’s that last item?  I didn’t want to search the aisles for regurgitated Cap’n Crunch.  No thank you.

That’s it!  That’s all I’ve got.

Actions

Information

5 responses

11 01 2007
bezzie

Ha ha! My husband is one of those people who is very well read–but not very well pronounced. He’s forever pronouncing words incorrectly! It’s kind of cute with him though!

Breakfast toss! Classic!

11 01 2007
Zonda

Yummy lunch there! Funny sign..

I mispronounce all the time..worse part now is my children correct me (should I say teenagers) and go like “Mom, learn to speak right!” 😉

I wish you well in your pursuit of your Master’s! 🙂

11 01 2007
Moorit

No, no, a “square toss” is where people take the direction to “fling your partner” a little too seriously.

11 01 2007
Moorit

This is what happens when you don’t wait for the nice picture to finish downloading. I pretty sure there was an oatmeal throw at the last Highland Games I attended, though.

12 01 2007
Batty

You know, I used to have that problem. I grew up in a foreign country and got most of my fancy vocabulary from books. Problem: I’d read the words, I knew what they meant, but I’d never heard them pronounced before. This led to some rather funny ‘oopses’.

Now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

