Chloe Noelle, Her Mama Does Say…

23 12 2006

….is the sweetest girl ever born Christmas Eve day!

Her eyes, so bright!  Her smile, so wide!

It is no wonder she’s my joy and pride!

Chloe Noelle, Chloe Noelle,

She is my girl I love so well!

 Chloe and 1 month

That’s the Chloe Noelle song, sung to the tune of The First Noel.  Like you needed to be told!  December 24, 2006, is her 10th birthday.  I hardly know what to say, beyond happy birthday!  Chloe is my girl.  I remember the precise moment I found out I was pregnant with her.  I was sitting in my little bathroom in Rota, Spain, watching the pink plus sign take form.  I remember holding onto her inside, my little secret, my little bud.  Because of her and the morning sickness she brought along, I had cause to embarrass myself atop Le Tour Eiffel.  She and I, we shared a heartbeat.  Every movement I made revolved around her.  I had her all to myself for nine months, all mine.

 

When she was born I could not wait to get my hands on her, my lips to her forehead, my eyes on her eyes.  I needed it so badly, and not because she was a humongous baby!  Nine pounds, people.  Nine pounds. 

 

She’s no longer all mine.  She’s been very much her own person since she learned how to read, and of course there are other people in her life.  But alas.  I knew her first, and we shared a heartbeat.

 

Here are some of my favorite things about Chloe: she’s very daring.  Chloe is amazingly creative and expresses it in wild and surprising ways.  She’s very sensitive, which means trouble if you cross her on a bad day, and also if you need a hug she’s the first one by your side.  Chloe has a beautiful spirit and a mind intelligent beyond my understanding.  She’s an angel.  She’s a feisty demon.  She’s my girl and my heart.  Chloe is the first person I have ever truly loved.

 

When she was a baby it was just the two of us.  Her father was gone all the time, and we rather liked having our own little world.  Her Spanish family, the people who took care of her when my maternity leave was up and I had to return to work, made such an impression on her developing personality, I’d be selfish not to mention them.  Carmen, Rosa, Jacinto, Manuel, Pepa, Manolo, I wish you could see her now.  In her first two years she was as much yours as she was mine, and we loved you fiercely.  Someday we’ll go back, visit the city where she and her brother were born, and we’ll see you again.  I know you’ll know her on sight.

 

Happy Birthday, my sweet Chloe, my Sugar Peeps.  My girl.  My heart!  I love you.  I’m so glad you chose me to be your Mama!

(ok, she got a haircut yesterday with her father, so as soon as she’s home I’ll post it.  It’s gorgeous, I’m sure!)

 

 

Actions

Information

6 responses

23 12 2006
bezzie

Aw!! What a great post! Happy Birthday to Chloe!

Funny how you remember those crazy things like the moment you found out you were pregnant huh?

24 12 2006
Sade

Happy Birthday Chloe!

24 12 2006
the kitchener bitch

Happy Birthday Chloe! sooooooooooooo cute…

24 12 2006
Batty

She’s so cute! Now we want to see pictures of the birthday girl with her new hair. Pictures, pictures!

Happy Birthday, Chloe. I hope you have a fun, happy day and a fabulous 10th year.

25 12 2006
P del F

Happy birfday, Chlo!!! 🙂 Ahhhh, ten. What a great year.

27 12 2006
Penny Karma

This post made me think of one of my favorite poems:

What is Supposed to Happen

When you were small,
we watched you sleeping,
waves of breath
filling your chest.
Sometimes we hid behind
the wall of baby, soft cradle
of baby needs.
I loved carrying you between
my body and the world.

Now you are sharpening pencils,
entering a forest of
lunch boxes, little desks.
People I never saw before
call out your name
and you wave.

This loss I feel,
this shrinking,
as your field of roses
grows and grows . . .

Now I understand history.
Now I understand my mother’s
ancient eyes.

– Naomi Shihab-Nye

Leave a Reply

