Shhh! It’s a Secret! (Of the Blogger Secret Pal 9 variety.)

2 10 2006

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like? I can’t say that I have a favorite yet. It’s probably easier to say what I don’t like, and that’s fun fur, eyelash yarn, or other really far out novelty stuff. And acrylics. This is not to say that I’ll never use it, only that I haven’t yet come across anything I want to knit with these yarns.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in? So far I’ve got my collection in the Knit Picks Options binder. Or in my big old knitting basket. I’m not fancy yet.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced? I’ve been knitting since December of last year. And I really didn’t know that I had taken off so much these past few years. Yes, I’ve been living under a rock! 😉 My daughter and I decided we wanted to learn how to knit, so we went to Target and bought a Klutz Press kit and here I am today! I suppose time- and experience-wise I’m very much a beginner. However, I’ve absolutely no fear and will stick with a project even if it confounds and infuriates me.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list? Nope.

5. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products, etc.) Mmm… coffee. Orange blossoms, any of the Autumn scents, like cinnamon-apple or hazelnut cake. Things like that. Bath products, I don’t use special scented gels or scrubs.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy? Do I have a sweet tooth? Do humans breathe air? Do fish swim? I love chocolate. I won’t go so far as to say “Dip it in chocolate and I’ll eat it!” but I DO love chocolate. The darker the better!

7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin? I made some pretty hideous stitch markers the other week. And I tried spinning but I kept poking my thigh with the pointy part of the spindle. Knitting is my only craft. That and coffee brewing.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD) Let’s see. I love classical music. What used to alternative, old stuff like The Cure. I don’t care for metal or rap or country. Old time Chicago blues, though, I adore! And yes, I can play MP3s.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand? I don’t like neon-y colors. And I’m not huge on the baby pastels. My favorites are deep colors, yeah! Chocolatey browns, the darkish end of off-white.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets? Let’s see. I have two magnificent, beastly children, a wonderful sweet man named JungleJim, and two delightful guinea pigs named Lucette and Shay. I love all of the aforementioned people/piggies.

11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos? Nope. Well, scarves, yes. And hats. Ok, mittens, too, but not ponchos.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit? I’ll knit anything! I haven’t knit anything for myself yet, so even if the pattern is not to my taste I know the recipient will like it! (Usually because they asked for it….)

13. What are you knitting right now? I’m trying my absolute best to make it through Eunny Jang’s Print O’ the Wave stole. It’s a challenge for me. I also have some socks to finish, two more hats, and I need to figure something for my siblings. All before Christmas!

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts? Of course!

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic? I love my KP Options. But for socks or hats, I love my Clover DPNs! And if I DO use straights, I prefer wood.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift? Gee. What a timely question. Nearly this entire evening has been spent winding 900 yards of laceweight into a ball! And I’m nowhere NEAR done! I do so deserately need a ball winder. I’ve hinted to JungleJim that the kids want to get me one for Christmas.

17. How old is your oldest UFO? Two months? Three? Oh wait. Four months!

18. What is your favorite holiday? Halloween! Well, Christmas, too. And Mother’s Day!

19. Is there anything that you collect? Beach glass. Shakespeare stuff. Japanese fishing net floats. Dust….

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have? I’d LOVE to pick up the Icarus pattern. And I don’t have any subscriptions, but if there’s an issue that looks good, I’ll pick it up.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn? You know, I understand this Magic Loop business is pretty fantastic, but I can’t wrap my head around it. And that’s ok.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements? I absolutely am a sock knitter! I wear US size 9.5 shoes. That sounds big. I have lovely feet, though!

23. When is your birthday? (mm/dd) July 11th! Every year on my birthday, in honor of me, the 7-Eleven stores give out free Slurpees. It’s true! Well, not the “in honor of me” part, but the free Slurpee part is true.

And there we have it!

Actions

Information

4 responses

5 10 2006
Anonymous

Ok, Kathy, just from your answers here I can tell this is going to be fun. We sound too much alike. lol

Your SP

5 10 2006
OldLadyPenPal

Hoooooooold up there mystery person! Are you my CASP or my Blogger SP9 person? Criminey, I need to check my other account to see if I have my SP9 person!

Oh what fun!

ps- I think it’s very unfair that I have to do a word verification on MY OWN BLOG!

6 10 2006
Anonymous

SP9!

8 10 2006
LadyLungDoc

Has anyone ever read a questionnaire where someone had a response “I love novelty yarns – the furrier the better!! There’s nothing cooler than having bits and pieces of things wrapped in a mongst the fibres – tin foil, shredded newspaper, bring it on!!And preferably synthetic – my dream is to be the first to own yarn that is made from a newly synthesized chemical”?

I’m guessing no.

So why why why is so much LYS space devoted to them?

Leave a Reply

