David Bowie

17 06 2008

One of the two benefits to having your children involved in way too many extracurricular activities is that there’s a good chance at least one of their coaches/instructors will be hot. My kids’ former karate instructor, one Sensei Chris, was our delightful token hottie for the past year after their former sensei died unexpectedly (although, seriously, he was severely obese, had horrible teeth, and sounded like he’d been a smoker since 3rd grade, so how unexpected could his death have been I ask you? I couldn’t stand him, but NO, I did NOT bust out the voodoo dolly on him). He’s leaving Arizona for North Carolina and a corporate job with the organization through which my kids are learning to kick ass in a major way. By the way, Sensei Chris claims to have trained a champion cage match fighter, but I googled his whole name and found nothing. I seriously think he’s a stoner, despite his tight embrace of martial arts and self-discipline. Anyway, here’s a picture of last Friday’s class. That little blur is my son. Notice, please, the thorough ass-kicking he’s giving Sensei Chris.

I love this new camera. You know what else I love? These stemless wine glasses, the wine inside it, the knitting it sits beside, the lamp behind them, and the table upon which they all sit. I’ve got paint chips on the wall, trying to pick a new color for our walls. What is on the walls now is the grossest, shiniest, stickiest white white white paint ever. Encased in this paint, like Han Solo in that carbon stuff, I’ve found the (2) curly black hairs (they’re at chest level, or so I hope) and one (1) cricket. How do you paint a cricket into a wall? I know HOW, I just don’t get why.

Jimmy swears this is a Jesus fish on our back wall, but seriously. If a Jesus fish were to magically appear to anyone, it would not be either of us.

Knitting! I’m knitting the Lace Ribbon Scarf (too lazy to link, and besides, everyone knows how to find knitting/crochet stuff these days anyway) and here is a super crappy picture! I can get the focus down juuuust right, but I’m having trouble with the color settings on my new camera. I’ll get there.

All right. I really want you all to know how much your sweet comments mean to me! There have been some rather crappy times chronicled on this dusty old blog, and your support and kindness meant a lot to me then. And all these years later, there are some diehard readers (Batty! My most frequent and lovely reader!) still offering me so much kindness and cheer. The other night I had a dream about my first day of school, which is coming up sooner than I think OH MY GOD. I dreamt that my kids were horrible, ill-behaved monsters. In my dream I was so incompetent and freaked out, I tearfully begged the janitor to come help my get my students under control. I guess that’s nothing compared to the dream I had last night in which legless people were being hoisted by pulleys onto a table so they could have sex. Ok, WTF?

Actions

Information

16 responses

17 06 2008
turtlegirl76

Now that sounds like an interesting dream. Wonder what Freud would say about that, eh? And where in NC is Sensei Chris moving? Hmmm?

17 06 2008
Deborah

If you don’t mind saying, what kind of camera did you get?

18 06 2008
Knit Witch

Oh my. You have been spending way too much time in CPA and it is causing weird dreams!!!! Lurvly knitting though!!!

18 06 2008
weezalana

Ah yes, but did you actually get to *see* them having sex? Then the dream becomes a true WTFer. (I am a master at WTFer dreams. Hubster has decided if I were to be a superhero, that would be my power. To tell the monsters and villains about my WTF dreams and confuse them to death.)

18 06 2008
oldladypenpal

Hi, Deborah! I just got an Olympus SP570-UZ. That’s what I used to take those pictures. Flickr has a group for people using that particular camera, and some of the shots are just amazing. CNET.com and Consumer Reports both rate is as the best point-and-shoot camera on the market. I LOVE it!

18 06 2008
poops

I was wondering for awhile there if the wedding cake did actually do you in at last. I’d heard of dessert-induced comas, I’d just never actually experienced one.

Now I can sleep easy again. *whew*

19 06 2008
Curran

Oh man, i wish you had a pic of the obese sensei, preferably doing a roundhouse kick with a red face and ciggie hangin off his lip.
Congrats on everything, youve had such an exciting year. Im glad to see you are still knitting too : P

19 06 2008
Mary

Wow, high anxiety dreams.

You will be fine, promise. The best part about the beginning of the year for me was those first few weeks of the “honeymoon” period where the kids used to do everything I asked cuz they just weren’t sure about me and just how mean actually was. Teachers are always mean, right? :)

Just keep knitting. That and deep cleansing breaths help a whole lot.

28 06 2008
Captain

I could happily spend half a day in a hardware store looking at paint chips. Let’s see ‘em.

29 06 2008
Frank

Definitely a reason to get my kid into activities: hot instructors! ;o)

4 07 2008
Batty

Wow, your camera does take awesome pictures!

But… I can’t fail to notice the wine next to the lace. Careful, lace and wine often don’t mix! I tried and failed and don’t recommend it. Get out that stockinette!

10 07 2008
Ed

Hiya,

The blur wasn’t much of a blur, probably thanks to the new camera. It’s good that your little one(s) learn to kick ass, just hope they don’t kick yours too.

Glad that your posting (less than me), what is the figures hugging, made of wood? Can you send me some pics of it from different angles please?

How did the Iccarus turn out, a pic of that would be nice.

I may have to learn to knit myself, what with a sprog on the way and due in Feb. We have the date scan this coming Wednesday at 09:30 in Chester.

Anyway. Get writing slacker!

TTFN

4 08 2008
Magatha

I love that ‘hugging’ carved statue you have.

Is that your sea silk shawl? Is it finished?

(How did sensei fatty-poo manage to teach karate? That is a puzzle to me. ;-)

11 09 2008
Ed

Delighted to find that you post less than me.

What’s been going on?

ttfn

22 12 2008
Craig Burgwardt

Just curious, my little girl was enrolled in a class here in Waynesville, North Carolina in which this Sensei Chris was the instructor for two classes … then he bailed for a “family emergency”. Might you know his full name?

10 05 2009
PennyKarma

Dude… I miss you! Where you at?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

