And a soda on the side.

1 03 2008

Because I care about Ed and his ongoing quest for reading pleasure, here’s a blog post. 

Um.  I finished the kitted part of a really cute green purse.  I used Berroco Suede and some shiny nylon tape thing.  I started this originally as one of those “knit a long rectangle, fold it in half, and seam up the sides” deal, but instead I redid it with a rectangle bottom, then I picked up stitches on three sides and knit in the round until I ran out of the shiny tape stuff.  Which wasn’t very long.  I should have taken a picture of the ridiculously tangled mess I had with this yarn last weekend as we drove down to Tombstone for the day.  I didn’t, though.  Here it is with the handles that still need to be attached.  I’m not sure what the finished dimensions will be.  I’ll let you know after I line it with cute fabric and something to make it not floppy.  Suggestions?

 

That’s my new laptop, by the way.  A Dell XPS M1330.  In addition to a ridiculously wonderful machine, I also get instant tech support with people who LIVE IN UTAH.  That’s all I have to say about that.

 
Speaking of Tombstone!  It was great fun.  It occurred to me, towards the end of the day, that Tombstone is a lot like a renaissance fair(e), but with boring costumes and fewer women.  And no delicious smoked turkey legs that require one to be prepared with plenty of dental floss.

 

We went on a tour of the historic Birdcage Theater, which is apparently the only thing keeping Tombstone designated as a historical town or whatever it is.  Apparently this is the most haunted place in Tombstone, but that’s like saying my silverware drawer is the most haunted place in my kitchen.  I took plenty of pictures figuring I’d find some ghostie orbs or ghostly figures afterwards.  This is the most interesting picture.  I don’t know for sure what those fiery blobs are, so I’m going to assert that they’re manifestations of unhappy souls of departed prostitutes.  I might be full of crap. 

 

On our way back home we stopped for dinner in Tucson at a place called Lil’ Abner’s.  Oh.  My.  God.  I have never had such gloriously wonderful ribs in my entire life.  They have four things on their menu.  Wait, they don’t even have a menu.  They will serve you a gigantic steak, a gigantic slab of beef ribs, a gigantic slab of pork ribs, or a few chickens.  Take your pick.  Eat them all.  They grill their meat over a pit, and they don’t start cooking until you order.  Go there.  Lil’ Abner’s in Tucson.  It’s housed in what used to be a Pony Express depot.  Pretty awesome.   Check out my boy in a food coma!   (No, he didn’t eat all of those.)

 

 


Actions

Information

10 responses

1 03 2008
twopalms

Tech support in Utah?!? I didn’t think such a thing existed.

Mmmm… food coma. Yum! Maybe someone should start a smoked turkey leg stand in Tombstone – it could be the next big thing! Bigger even than blobby evidence of ghostly prostitutes.

1 03 2008
TiFF

mmmm meat!

1 03 2008
bezzie

Hee hee, I just love your tags on this post.

Rest in peace skanky old west whores, rest in peace.

1 03 2008
Batty

Looks like an awesome time!

About the bag… I wonder if you can get some of that plastic canvas people used to embroider flowers onto in the 70′s. Maybe at Michael’s or some such place?

2 03 2008
Meowser

Tech support in Utah? You must have gone through the business side of Dell.

I love that picture of your son! Wonder where he got his sense of humor?

2 03 2008
Magatha

We visited Tombstone in 2005. It was a real eye opener to see those photos in the back of the theater of the ‘real’ characters of old Tombstone. They were butt ugly, unbelievably so. And here all this time I thought Big Nosed Kate looked exactly like Isabella Rossellini! ;)

Looks like the kids had a great time. Shocking how chilly it is in Tombstone too, huh?

3 03 2008
Ed's Next Door Neighbour

Being a Brit, the plywood painted cutouts remind me of Blackpool!

If you can’t get any kind of plastic canvas (Batty’s suggestion sounds like the sort of stuff you find in young kids’ embroidery kits – am I right?), then a piece of dress boning along the top and bottom seams of the lining should give your bag sufficient shape to match the width of the handles without restricting the movement of it too much. Last time I bought it it was quite cheap and more like stiff, webby bias binding than the metal stuff you get in underwiring.

5 03 2008
Ed

Yay you’re back,

Great fun with ghosts and cut outs, yeehaaa.

Abners sounds awesome, but I know a couple of peeps who would run screaming from it.

And as for your lad, well what can you say except,
*in a French accent* “Would sir care for a waffer thin mint?”

TTFN

8 03 2008
Robin

I wish I could go to Tombstone. That would be cool.

Now I want a big old Henry the VII-style turkey leg.

14 03 2008
sillyrabbit

I totally thought this was going to be about the Chicken Noodle Soup song, and I was going to impress you with my knowledge of both the song AND the dance, which I learned while watching Regis and Kelly. Bummer. But, Tombstone looks like fun!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

